Wanted: Housewife to Share Household

This past Sunday, our pastor preached on Mark 6:31:  And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while; for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat.  When the pastor began his sermon following the bible reading he said that we all need to find time to rest from our busy lives.  I turned to my husband at this point and said, “I really don’t think this sermon pertains to us at all.” 

Well, of course it did.  I kind of wonder if we were the motivation for the sermon.  You know, it was possibly God wanting to speak to us through our church service.  Last week was one of the busiest I can recall in a long time.  After returning from a conference that we attended over the weekend, we each had separate meetings Monday and Tuesday nights.  My husband had a morning and evening meeting on Wednesday.  We had a lunch meeting (together!) on Thursday.  On Friday I picked my mother up in Atlanta so that she could be at our daughter’s birthday party.  On Saturday we helped with a hamburger cook-off  during the day and went to a rodeo that night to pick up a pony for our little girl.  On Sunday we had church and then prep for a 5 o’ clock party that afternoon.  I have always been against Sunday birthday parties but that was the only date that would work for our extended family and it happened to be her actual birthday so we decided to go with it. 

Pony Party Cake

We managed to pull it all off but you should see our house.  Actually, I hope no one sees our house.  I have never been a good housekeeper.  In fact, I am a terrible housekeeper.  The work weeks are always busy enough on their own.  But add in all the extra things that took place last week and it looks like a tornado hit.  Keep in mind that our house is still only halfway remodeled so there are already some spots that are home to paint cans and various tools for painting or tiling.  Then there is the fact that we don’t have a working dishwasher and you guessed it–dishes are piled in the sink.  We had to rearrange the furniture to accomodate my mother’s wheelchair so there are tables, chairs and a love seat randomly placed in the few open spaces we had.  The floors are a mess because we also had a huge storm on Saturday that left plenty of mud for us and our house dogs to drag in.  (It wasn’t a tornado, just flash flooding with thunderstorms.) 

So why, you may ask, am I divulging this information across the internet?  I just thought there may be some brave soul out there that would want to come clean the house for me?!  It’s so bad I can’t even imagine hiring a maid service because they would probably have to charge me an entire month’s salary.  So instead, I’ve decided to issue a sort of classified ad:  I am willing to let you share my home and my husband and even hang out with my beautiful, wonderful daughter and I won’t charge you a thing.  All you have to do is be our housewife.  See, I have figured out that skill is just not in my DNA.  If we could just find someone with domestic skills to fill in where I am lacking, I think we’d have a pretty ideal household. 

Yes, I am completely joking about becoming a polygamist.  I just cannot seem to find the time to take care of chores at the house.  And it is driving us insane.  No one likes to live in a messy home.  If anyone has a better suggestion than putting out a classified ad for a housewife, please let me know ASAP!

